Open daily, 10am-4pm

42-44 Devonport Road, Tauranga

Miles Art Awards Exhibition 2014 


Tauranga Art Gallery is thrilled to be coordinating and hosting The Miles Art Award 2014 - an award and accompanying exhibition held every two years.

This is the third biennial prize at the Gallery, and is open solely to Bay of Plenty artists aged 18 and over.

Venetta Miles was an original donor to the Tauranga Art Gallery Trust. Her generosity and foresight is remembered through this exhibition and award. The exhibition of selected works will run 8 August to 12 October.

The Miles Award is kindly sponsored by The Venetta Miles Trust, and carries five prizes, with the Supreme Award having prize money of $2000.


The winners of the four main prizes for 2014 are:

Supreme Award: Lea-Anne Sheather for Tipping Point

Mayor’s Award for an Emerging Artist: Debbie Tipuna for Piu Piu (Post European)
Ethel McMillan Award: James Ormsby for Mauao Martha (#2 Nocturnal Bay Series, 2014)

Friends of the Gallery Award: Doreen McNeill for Harmony


Visitors to the Gallery will have the chance to vote for their favourite work in the exhibition of selected finalists (open to the public from this Friday 15 August) to receive the inaugural 2014 People’s Choice Award. Each visitor will be allowed one entry. Entries can only be made in person at the Gallery up until Sunday 5 October, one week prior to the close of the exhibition. The artist with the most votes will be announced on Monday 6 October and will receive a $200 voucher for quality art supplies.

Principal Funder

Annual Strategic Partners