Open daily, 10am-4pm

42-44 Devonport Road, Tauranga


40 Finalists

14 March 2020 – 12 August 2020

40 art works chosen as finalists from 99 submitted by artists residing in the Bay of Plenty for Tauranga’s premiere art award, the Miles Art Awards, make up this exhibition.

The finalists work are on display in a curated exhibition, the sixth installment of our biannual awards and exhibition at Tauranga Art Gallery.

Take the virtual tour here

The event is named after one of Tauranga Art Gallery’s original donors, Venetta Miles, who is remembered for her considerable foresight and generosity. The Miles Art Awards is generously supported by The Venetta Miles Trust and made possible also thanks to the Friends of Tauranga Art Gallery, Tauranga Mayor, The Incubator Creative Hub, and the Bay of Plenty Times.

With thanks to guest judge Sarah Hudson, we are delighted to announce the 2020 Miles Art Awards winners are:

The Supreme Award to Israel Randall for Wahi Ngaro, 2019

The Incubator Emerging Artist Award to Adrienne Ranson for Cloud, Rock, Mountain No.2, 2019

The Ethel MacMillan Award to Brylee Courtney for Black Arena, 2019

The Tauranga Mayor’s Award to Kevin McCardell for Plight of the Bumblebee, 2020

The Friends of the Tauranga Art Gallery Award to Zig Beatnik for Anarchist, 2018


Image Credit: Israel Randall, Wahi Ngaro, 2019

With the support of: 




Principal Funder

Annual Strategic Partners